Home >Management >Chairman,AEES


Shri S Sarkar
Chairman, AEES

Shri S. Sarkar has acquired his B.Tech (Hons.) degree in Chemical Engineering from IIT, Kharagpur in the year 1978. After successful completion of one year OCES programme in Chemical Engineering from the 22nd batch of BARC Training School, Shri Sarkar joined BARC on 1st August 1979 as Scientific Officers.

During the last three decades, he has made active contribution towards conceptualization, project execution and operation of different process facilities. In addition, he has also associated himself with developmental activities related to fluorine chemistry, precision instruments and special magnets.

Shri Sarkar, a Distinguished Scientist, was holding the responsibility of Director of Chemical Technology Group, BARC, overseeing the smooth functioning of many divisions engaged in developmental activities of Special Purpose Machines,Nano-Technology, and Hydrogen Energy, including the BARC projects at Mysore and Chitradurga, Karnataka. As a recognition for his contributions he has been awarded the Homi Bhabha Science & Technology Award in 2016.

After retirement on superannuation in December 2016, the Department of Atomic Energy has awarded Raja Ramanna Fellowship to Shri Sarkar and also his services are utilized by the Department as Chairman of various safety committees.

In addition to Raja Ramanna Fellowship, Shri Sarkar has been appointed as Chairman, Atomic Energy Education Society w.e.f 16.11.2018 for a duration of three years with the responsibility of ensuring smooth functioning of 31 Atomic Energy Central Schools and Junior Colleges located in various parts of the country.

Quick links


Other Links


© 2016. All Rights Reserved.