Home >Management >Secretary,AEES


Shri. Swapnesh Kumar Malhotra
Secretary, AEES

Shri Swapnesh Kumar Malhotra, Raja Ramanna Fellow, DAE assumed the Office of Secretary, AEES, Mumbai on December 28, 2015. Earlier to that he superannuated from Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) as Outstanding Scientist and Head, Public Awareness Division. After postgraduation in Chemistry from Agra University in 1976, he joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Mumbai. After a one year training in Nuclear Science & Technology, he joined BARC as Scientific Officer. For more than two decades, he was engaged in R&D on Heavy Water – an important nuclear material for the Indian Nuclear Power Programme. His major fields of interest were hydrogen isotope separation, fractional distillation, cryogenic distillation, electrolysis, metal hydrogen system, mass-spectrometry etc. He was involved in the technology transfer activities of BARC for a couple of years.

Since 1999, as Head, Public Awareness Division of Department of Atomic Energy, he was responsible for planning, overseeing and assessing the entire outreach programme of the Department of Atomic Energy. His untiring efforts in creating mass awareness about atomic energy in general and uranium mining and processing in particular have been well recognized. He produced a number of documentaries on DAE and its activities. He was also responsible for the conceptualization, design and production of the publications of the DAE. He has served as an expert with International Atomic Energy Agency for assessing and advising them on their Public Information Programme. He is a widely traveled person and has delivered about 500 invited lectures on various scientific topics at various forums including universities, colleges, schools etc. He is very fond of interacting with the students and youth.

In 2007, he was bestowed upon by the Department of Atomic Energy with Special Contribution Award for his valuable contributions in the field of Nuclear Science & Technology and programme of the Department of Atomic Energy. In 2008, he received National Award for Excellence in PR by the Public Relations Society of India. Indian Nuclear Society honoured him with INS Science Communication Award for the year 2009. In 2010, he received NAARI Appreciation Award for his valuable contributions to the National Association for Applications of Radioisotopes and Radiation in Industry. Indian Society of Analytical Scientists bestowed upon him ISAS National Award for Excellence in Science & Technology in 2012. In 2015, he was awarded Dr. R P Parnekar Poornawad Award for Excellence in Engineering and Technology by Poornawad Institute of Life Engineering, Pune. He was awarded Vigyan Mitra Award by Mahakoshal Vigyan Parishad, Jabalpur (M.P.) in 2015. He is a Fellow of the Indian Science Writers Association and Mahakoshal Vigyan Parishad. He is currently President of Indian Society of Analytical Scientists (ISAS).

Quick links


Other Links


© 2016. All Rights Reserved.